double chocolate pudding cookies

29 June, 2010 at 12:51 am 2 comments

Right off the bat I’ve gotta say that when I first saw this recipe, I kind felt I should object to it on principal. I mean, I’ve halved the original recipe here, and the quantities of things still seem kind of outrageous– two sticks of butter, chocolate chips, all kinds of other stuff and…yes, a package of instant chocolate pudding. I held off making these for a little while because I just couldn’t quite decide if it was a good idea– it’s not like any cookies are good for you, but these in particular seemed just a tiny bit diabolical. But you know what? Now that I’ve made them, I cannot in good conscience not share the recipe. It’s too delicious.

You won’t often find me making or even eating double chocolate cookies (in fact I don’t think I’ve ever made any before), because they’re usually too much chocolate-on-chocolate action for me, but these were really amazing. I have kind of a nostalgic soft spot for chocolate pudding (and I bet I’m not the only one), so the slight pudding note in these pillowy little cookies totally hit the spot. And for me the soft texture made them seem a little less heavy than a traditional chocolate chocolate chip cookie, so that was a bonus too.

Now that the weather has warmed up, softening butter for cookies is a much less time-consuming affair, so I actually bothered to use softened instead of melted butter this time (even though I usually don’t) and I was glad that I did. But I did not waver from my position that using multiple bowls for wet and dry ingredients only to combine them later is annoying and makes too many dishes for a person with no dishwasher, so these are made in one bowl and do not require using an electric mixer as long as the butter is soft enough (although you could if you want). They are pretty easy to whip up, and they have a great soft and chewy texture. You could vary the chips a bit if you wanted, maybe try part semisweet chocolate and part white chocolate chips, or even try mixing in some butterscotch or peanut butter chips, or a handful of chopped nuts. Personally I really liked the simple, chocolaty gooeyness of the straight chocolate cookies with semisweet chocolate chips, so I’d recommend tasting them as they are before playing around, but like many cookies they are quite adaptable if you want to try!

Double Chocolate Puddin Cookies
Adapted from Tasty Kitchen
Makes about 42 cookies

2 sticks butter, softened
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup white sugar
2 eggs
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 small pkg instant chocolate pudding (3.9 0z)
2 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

In a large bowl, cream together the butter, brown sugar, and white sugar with a wooden spoon or an electric mixer. Add the eggs and vanilla and stir until combined. Then add the pudding mix, flour, baking soda, and salt, and mix thoroughly (again, you can do it by hand like I did or use an electric mixer). Toss in the chocolate chips

Drop by rounded spoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets and bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes (10 minutes for a gooey-er cookie, and 12 minutes for a more chewy effect). Enjoy!

Entry filed under: recipes. Tags: , , .

kitchen firsts: homemade mayonnaise + bacon deviled eggs summer appetizer: feta packets!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tes  |  29 June, 2010 at 1:09 am

    These cookies look amazing. The recipe looks delicious.

    Reply
  • 2. Eric  |  29 June, 2010 at 6:16 pm

    MC – I can’t wait to try these cookies. Personally I would use a dark chocolate chip.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


recent cookery

monthly archives

follow tWG on twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 129 other followers


