menu planning, pt. 1

16 May, 2010 at 8:46 pm 5 comments

In the name of trying to follow through with the conclusions I drew from this week’s check up post, here is a quick post to (hopefully) make me feel obligated to stick to a menu plan this week.

As far as I’m concerned, when using a menu plan there is nothing wrong with switching the days around as long as you follow through on using the ingredients you have, and for myself I want to respect the established ratio of everyday to weekend recipes. I laid these out in the order I theoretically might want to make them, but reserve the right to switch things around or to make adaptations at the last minute. But I wouldn’t even consider it a failure if I ended up finding a different way to use up the purchased ingredients.

I’m generally inspired by trying new recipes, so this is a selection of things I haven’t made before, but that doesn’t necessarily mean I’ll blog about all of them– just the best ones! So here goes– I’m afraid it might be a bit ambitious, but I’m going to give it a try, and I’ve included at the bottom a back-up option of something I know is super easy, in case we don’t have the energy to keep up with this plan.

  • Monday (everyday): Chicken Machaca (mexican stir fry with tomatoes, peppers) over Rick Bayless’ Poblano Rice with Herbs
  • Tuesday (everyday): Mache Salad with Jicama, Cucumber, Cotija, Pine Nuts, and Lime Dressing
  • Wednesday (everyday): Baked Chicken with Mustard and Herb Panko Crust, and Roasted Mushrooms
  • Thursday (weekend-ish): Sonoran-Style Cheese Enchiladas (kitchen first: masa harina) with Parral Pea Pods (sauteed with onion, jalapeno and tomato)
  • Friday (weekend): Dinner Out
  • Saturday (everyday): Sunset’s light Sweet and Sour Pork
  • Sunday (everyday): Cherry Tomato Pizza with Fresh Mozzarella, Basil, and Fennel
  • Back-up Plan: If, as the week goes on, one of these dishes seems like too much, we will make Scrambled Egg Tacos with Avocado and Feta

I’ll report back at the end of the week! Particularly looking forward to Thursday night’s Sonoran-Style Cheese Enchiladas and Parral Pea Pods from Stephen’s mom’s copy of The Border Cookbook which we just borrowed. And, of course, looking forward to going out to a fancy dinner to celebrate our 5 year anniversary on Friday!

Does anybody else like to menu plan? Do you have a style of menu planning that works best for you? As a bonus for putting up with my recipe-less menu planning post, I wanted to link to this cool printable menu/grocery planning thing I found that has worked for us in the past (although I’m not using it currently). Happy menu planning!

Entry filed under: blogging.

kitchen firsts: berry tart with lemon-vanilla pastry cream kitchen firsts: sonoran enchiladas

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. theweekendgourmande  |  17 May, 2010 at 8:28 pm

    Day 1 update: already failed at making Monday’s recipe! we did have scrambled egg tacos instead though (this time with calabacitas!), so at least we made use of the backup plan, used up some stuff from the fridge, and did not spend any extra money. Hopefully we can get back on track tomorrow.

    Reply
  • 2. theweekendgourmande  |  18 May, 2010 at 9:00 pm

    Day 2: NOOOO, I’m 0 for 2! We went to check out a burger and brew deal because I was too tired to cook and didn’t have all the ingredients I needed. Fail. I’m learning lessons though.

    Reply
  • 3. theweekendgourmande  |  19 May, 2010 at 8:20 pm

    Day 3: Success! Made the crunchy mustard-herb chicken and the roasted mushrooms. Chicken in particular was fabulous– healthy and super simple. Will post with the menu planning recap at the end of the week.

    Reply
  • 4. theweekendgourmande  |  21 May, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    Day 4: more or less success– we made and enjoyed the sonoran enchiladas, although i wimped out on the pea pod side dish. the enchiladas were easy and simple and vegetarian, which makes me wish i could count it as an everyday meal, but they were also fried so i guess i can’t really rationalize my way into everydaying them.
    And now it’s Day 5 and we are, as planned, going to go out to dinner, even though that will mean 3 weekend meals this week. Oops…

    Reply
  • 5. theweekendgourmande  |  23 May, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    Day 6: failure again, although not 100% my fault because we both ended up working through dinner time and ate pizza for dinner at 10 pm.
    Day 7: I’m not going to make the pizza as listed because I want to try to catch up on some of the things I’d listed earlier in the week. Hoping to enjoy the chicken machaca, parral pea pods, and maybe a mini version of the mache salad with jicama and cucumber.
    I’ll follow up soon with a revised plan for the coming week!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


recent cookery

monthly archives

follow tWG on twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 129 other followers


