a year in the blogosphere

11 November, 2010 at 1:06 pm 2 comments



It pains me to steal thunder from the epic turkey tome that only got top spot on the home page for a day, but I realized today that, amazingly, it was a whole year ago that I whiled away my Veterans Day holiday from school by starting a blog. I assumed at the time that, a few days or weeks later, it would become an abandoned corner of the internet, or perhaps just a sporadically updated private catalog of a few recipes we had tried. Which is why I’m so shocked to be writing this post today, perusing a year’s worth of posts for highlights.

In one year there have been 93 posts including over 100 recipes, and (as of this morning) there’ve been about 13,150 hits, averaging out to a little over 1000 views per month. I am painfully aware of how minuscule these numbers are in the grand scheme of the internet or even the food blogoscape, but for a silly little hobbyist blogger I feel pretty good about it! I have to attribute the much-more-consistent-than-expected writing of posts to the fact that I’d much rather document what we eat than do the dishes, but the hits I attribute almost entirely to luck and to my lovely helpful readers who are nice enough to help me pass my link around the nets from time to time!

I am not going to do a huge reflective post today, but I will say a quick few words about my plans for the blog and share some of the highlights from the year. I’d love to hear if you have any favorite posts in the comments!


First I want to take a quick look back at the juiciest bits: the food! According to WordPress, the top posts are as follows: oatmeal french breakfast muffins, indoor pulled pork, mexican chocolate souffles, feta packets, broccolini and sausage pasta, korean bbq burgers, homemade horseradish potato salad, crispy baked salmon with sweet hot mustard, and the watercress and pea shoot salad with avocado dressing. Some of this list surprises me (like the muffin post being at the top, or the broccolini and sausage pasta post from way back when making the top ten at all– it was really yummy, but it’s just a weeknight pasta!), but it also features some of our favorites, like the pulled pork, feta packets, and that amazing pea shoot salad.

What’s left out by that top ten? A couple of my favorite underdog posts: brussels sprouts with creamy bacon horseradish sauce, seven flavor beef, fresh pea and pea shoot pasta carbonara, tartiflette toast, and of course MOS burgers, to name a few. And then of course there are lots of recipes that are super tasty, but don’t make the greatest hits cut; I’m excited, especially now that we’re entering holiday cooking season, to see what culinary delights we can discover for next year’s best of!

So, plans for the year to come– let’s ignore the fact that many of the goals I laid out in my six-month check-up are not fully accomplished yet, and focus on what’s still on the docket!

  • Investing in some more photography-related supplies. We have already acquired an awesome tripod in the last couple of months, and I try to use natural light as much as possible, but I’d like to develop a setup to make the best of the light when I cook at night (which is most of the time), and I’d like to get my hands on some nice staging accessories– photogenic silverware, plates, napkins, backdrops, etc.
  • Moving toward storing my photographs on a flickr account
  • Purchasing my domain name and some custom CSS changes
  • Taking better care of my index page

Anyway, I think that’s all for now. I’m think I’m going to celebrate the day by baking some cookies, and maybe buying the blog a little present. Thanks for tuning in! Here’s to another year.

Entry filed under: blogging. Tags: .

the easy way to roast a moist, flavorful turkey savory stuffing strata

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sharon Sless  |  12 November, 2010 at 12:07 pm

    Congratulations on this, your first year anniversary of blogging. I’m now an avid follower. Keep up the good work!!

    Reply
  • 2. ezsrecipes  |  15 November, 2010 at 5:24 am

    Congratulations on your blogiversary, I have one coming up myself and can completely relate to how something that started as a mere hobby has ended up being so much more than that! While I am just now discovering you, I do look forward to coming back and seeing more!
    ~Emily

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


recent cookery

monthly archives

follow tWG on twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 119 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 119 other followers

