spicy egg salad with bacon and chives

6 April, 2010 at 3:34 pm 3 comments

This is the time of year when people tend to have a surplus of interestingly colored hard boiled eggs laying around. Before I came to appreciate egg salad, I remember we always used to try to make ourselves eat some of those chemical-colored eggs just as they are, and then we’d end up throwing most of them away. But it recently occurred to me that as long as your eggs aren’t too unappetizingly colored, there is really nothing better to do than make a batch of egg salad! I always used to eschew egg salad because I thought it sounded and looked and smelled weird, but over the last year I realized that my fear of the stuff was really quite irrational and I should go ahead and conquer it. I discovered the simple tastiness of a really good, simple, freshly homemade egg salad sandwich (without too much mayo!), and while I don’t make them often, when the mood strikes they can really hit a spot. Right after Easter seems the perfect time to have an egg-salad mood strike, and even though I didn’t actually dye any eggs this year, seeing a recipe for egg salad that involves bacon and horseradish was enough to make me set a pot of eggs to boil!

There really isn’t much to say about this recipe! If you already like egg salad, I bet you can imagine that it tastes pretty delicious with just a little mayo to moisten it, and a little kick from some horseradish and spicy mustard, some freshness from the chives, and some crumbled bacon! If you aren’t normally a huge fan of egg salad, perhaps the presence of bacon, horseradish, mustard and chives (and did I mention the bacon?), plus the opportunity to make productive use of any easter eggs you have laying around, might be enough to make it seem worth a try? Either way, if you do make this, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed!

Spicy Egg Salad with Bacon and Chives
Inspired by and loosely adapted from this recipe from Buttermilk Press
Makes enough for 4-6 sandwiches, about 2 cups maybe

6 large eggs
2 slices bacon
2 T mayo
1-2 tsp horseradish, depending on its strength
1 tsp dijon mustard (or other mustard you like)
2 T chopped chives (or you can use green onions)
salt and pepper
optional: add some finely chopped celery if you like a little more crunch in your egg salad, or a dash of lemon juice for brightness

First, set your two strips of bacon to cook in a small saucepan over medium heat. Cook until crisp and crumble-able while you’re boiling the eggs.  Allow to cool and drain on a paper towel, then crumble.

Meanwhile, place eggs in a saucepan and add water to cover by about a half inch. Place on high heat just until it starts to boil, then turn off heat (leaving pan on the burner), cover, and let sit for eight minutes. This is just the amount of time necessary to set and cook the yolks but not make them all dry, crumbly, and overdone. Remove eggs from the pan to a bowl of ice water and let them cool for 3 minutes (this, I hear, stops the gross graying from happening around the yolk and ensures that they stop cooking before the get overcooked).

Peel eggs carefully, then chop into whatever size pieces you like– I usually chop until the whites are about dime or nickel sized, and the yolks usually crumble into slightly smaller nuggets. Scoop the egg pieces into a bowl or container (I like to make it straight in the container I’ll be storing it in).

Into the container with your eggs, add the crumbled bacon, mayonnaise, mustard, and horseradish. Use kitchen shears to snip a small bunch of chives into the bowl (essentially you can add as many chives as you want, to taste), then season with salt and pepper. Stir it all together and you’re ready to go! Give it a taste, and if you like it creamier or chive-ier or  more mustardy (or less of any of those things, for that matter) go ahead and adjust your quantities! I like mine as described above, not too much of anything but with a nice balance of spicy and smoky and fresh. A dollop of this stuff on bread makes an easy sandwich for a quick meal or snack, and this recipe even kind of lends itself to breakfast, with the whole egg and bacon combo– I’ve had these for breakfast on the way to work two days in a row this week!

Entry filed under: recipes. Tags: , , , , .

spring produce and spring cleaning kitchen firsts: chinese broccoli with beef and noodles

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Meggie  |  11 April, 2010 at 8:27 pm

    I keep on thinking about this post and salivating. Tomorrow I am going to get some eggs particularly for the purpose of making this! Maybe I’ll blog about it if I have a chance… :)

    Reply
    • 2. theweekendgourmande  |  11 April, 2010 at 9:11 pm

      hooray! let me know how it turns out, either via bloggery or not!

      Reply
  • 3. tallbaldandhungry  |  25 August, 2010 at 12:10 pm

    I will have to try this. It had been years since I had egg salad but after finding a recipe on epicurious I am once again a fan!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


recent cookery

monthly archives

follow tWG on twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 119 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 119 other followers

